[TRACKING] Can't get into computer - fingerprint reader

I cannot get into my laptop anymore. I am new at this and I guess that’s my first mistake.

I recently purchased a DIY framework. I followed the instructions and put it together, figured out how to make a bootable USB for Linux Mint Cinnamon and installed it, and everything has been working fine. I have been using it and have been really enjoying it. Until I restarted my computer, that is. Now, when I click the user icon to log in, it flashes to a screen that says the fingerprint reader couldn’t authenticate, and very quickly back to the username screen. It doesn’t stay there long enough for me to type a password. I’ve even tried rebooting it with the usb in again to see if I can just wipe the whole thing and reinstall linux. Nothing works. I try clicking the username with a mouse instead of the touchpad, using the keys instead of clicking, nothing works. Always the flashing to the screen saying the fingerprint didn’t work and then back again. I don’t know what to do. The machine is useless now and I’m very upset. Please help.

Was this solved adequately on Reddit?

Happy to help however I can.

There have been reports of LightDM on Linux Mint causing login loops when trying to use fingerprint readers.

Cinnamon (the desktop) is not “great” with the fingerprint reader. Ubuntu works far, far better for this sort of thing.

For fully supported fingerprint reader access, we recommend the Ubuntu or Fedora which have outstanding support.

If you do a reboot (F12), select the USB drive and then do a clean installation, it will knock everything out. In our testing, I found I had to do this multiple times because Cinnamon wasn’t playing nice.

Because of this, I’ve actually removed the problematic section for using the fingerprint reader in the Linux Mint guide as unlike Ubuntu and Fedora, it’s simply not recommended.