[RESOLVED] How to restore the original price on a pre-order unit after a configurator change?

I have a pre-order for the 13 pro, and I was playing around with editing the storage option as I had originally selected the 850x and was considering switching to the sn7100, but the price seemed to go up significantly more than I expected no matter what change I made (I never actually made any changes, just got to the confirmation screen and cancelled). Even selecting a much cheaper drive made the price go up significantly.

I reached out to support, initially they explained that the prices show on the edit page were current pricing and not the pre-order pricing that I would be paying, so the 850x 2tb drive was listed at $625 and my pre-order price was $265. But that wasn’t all of the issue, I wrote back explaining that even selecting a lower capacity drive that was less than $265 the price would still go up, and I wanted to know why.

This is where things started to go sideways, the response I got confirmed that the pricing was in fact wrong, and by changing the storage I was also being charged current (higher) pricing for RAM. They mentioned this was being escalated for review, but they also changed my storage option to the cheaper SSD I used as an example, I hadn’t asked for this change.

I responded asking them to undo the change, explaining that it was just an example. Now I have the original 850x 2tb drive on my order, but at the current price of $625 instead of my pre-order price. I responded immediately asking for the price to be fixed to reflect the total before they made these changes I didn’t ask for.

That was two days ago, yesterday I got an email telling my that my batch is being prepared, and I have not heard any response from support.

So basically they have today to fix this, as it looks like I’ll be charged for my order tomorrow at midnight. I can’t even remove the storage because it’s now a separate line item on the pre-order.

That batch preparing email should have been exciting, but it hit me like a ton of bricks. Now I’m wondering if I should cancel my order over $390.35, seems petty, but I don’t want to pay that much extra for literally nothing. I’m certain there was no malicious intent by Framework, this is just a series of unfortunate mishaps, and I’m sure they have a ton of emails to get through, but I can’t help but feel jerked around by all of this.

EDIT: Thanks @Eagle for getting this sorted out for me!

I hope you get a decent resolution! One approach is that you accept the order, wait for it to be delivered, and then make a decision based on the 30-day returns period. I believe that is offered worldwide, so you do have some breathing space.

But I agree that you should at least be able to revert to your original order without price penalty.

1 Like

Thanks for that info, unfortunately I can’t imagine a world where I’d be ok with paying almost $400 more than an agreed upon price. I really wish there was a way to get a hold of someone today, I’m sure they’d make it right, but it seems like support is not equipped to handle the volume of requests.

1 Like

I personally would be so confident that the original price is a contractual agreement that Support would not be minded to back out of it. If you are inclined similarly, you could accept the order, and that gives Support in the order of 40 days to respond (assuming a 10 day delivery time to you).

Of course if they don’t agree then you can return the unit, and it will only cost you the shipping cost.

We do have some customer-facing staff on this forum, but yeah, they’re likely maxed out too. The downside of brisk business! :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

I know they are already running around trying to put out fires, but maybe @Eagle could take a look at your order and get you sorted out?

1 Like

Hey! Yeah, modifying your order makes the order recalculate to current pricing. Shoot me your order number in DM and I’ll take care of it. I’ll change everything back to what is listed on your last confirmation email.

Edit: I’ll send you a DM. Sorry, didn’t notice you’re a new account.

2 Likes

Thank you! I’m not sure how to DM you?

I sent you one. You should see a notification up at the top right of your screen.