Best external trackpad?

Hello, everyone! I’ve been using my Framework for about 6 months as a regular laptop and have been loving it, but my neck and shoulders are really starting to kill me, so I’d like to transfer it to my standing desk and hook it up to an external monitor, keyboard, and use an external trackpad as a mouse (I have carpel tunnel, so a normal mouse doesn’t work for me, plus I’m a heavy Photoshop/Illustrator user).

I have Windows 11 and know there’s some compatibility issues with a lot of external trackpads, but I just found this tutorial specifically for the Apple Magic Trackpad 2, which seems legit, but I don’t want to spend a bunch of money only to find out it doesn’t work:
https://techzoneonline.com/how-to-use-apple-magic-trackpad-2-on-windows-10/

I have two questions:

1. Has anyone successfully been able to use an external trackpad with Windows 11 on their Framework?
  2. If someone does have an Apple Magic Trackpad 2 and Windows 11, can you verify that tutorial is sound (or provide some other way that you’ve gotten your trackpad to work with your laptop)?

Thank you!

1 Like

Not sure where you live, but in most countries where Apple has its own retail stores, you have 2 weeks to change your mind and return a product for full refund (even if used). I have successfully taken advantage of this to try out every iPhone since iPhone 8 in addition to numerous other accessories.

1 Like

Oh, I didn’t realize that! I’ll try it out and report back with my findings. Thanks!

1 Like

So, I just went to the nearest Apple store and purchased a Magic Trackpad. Came home, followed the instructions to install the driver, and am able to use it with no issues. Looks like I’ll be keeping it!

2 Likes

Yeah, when it comes to trackpad expereience, the Magic Trackpad 2 is the one to get.
Just like if someone wants a productivity mouse, it would be the MX Master 3s.

Some peripherals are just sooo good in their own space that there’s no competition.

2 Likes