Fingerprint scanner stopped letting me add fingerprints and won't work at all now

Just got my new 12th-gen Framework a few weeks ago and installed Debian testing on it. One of the first things I did was enroll my fingerprint. To, start, I just added my index finger, and it worked fine. A couple weeks later I decided I’d add more fingers on my right hand, and that’s when the trouble started. I filed an issue with the libfprint folks, but to summarize:

I tried adding right-thumb, but after a bunch of enroll-stage-passed messages, it ends with enroll-disconnected. After some fiddling, I ended up using fprintd-delete to delete all prints, but now any finger I’ve tried to previously enroll fails in that way. Trying to enroll a brand-new finger that I’ve never tried to enroll before succeeds, but then when I try to use it (either to unlock from the screen locker, or testing using fprintd-verify), it fails to recognize the finger… and then, inexplicably, the scanner forgets that finger even exists; fprintd-list shows that nothing is enrolled!

I tried running the storage cleanup script posted on another topic, but that oddly gives me “Device doesn’t support clearing storage.” This is the new 12th-gen mainboard, so maybe it has a different fingerprint sensor (27c6:609c) that libfprintd doesn’t know how to clear?

At any rate, I’m at a loss for how to proceed. I’ve never installed a different OS, let alone used the fingerprint scanner from another OS, so it’s not the whole different-OS-storage-conflict issue. It sorta seems like the scanner is actually remembering prior fingers that I’ve enrolled, even though libfprint doesn’t think there’s anything enrolled. And regardless, it’s weird that enrolling a new finger succeeds, but then fails to actually work, and then libfprint (and possibly the hardware?) completely forgets about it. Any ideas?

1 Like