Framework Laptop for Computer Science Student

I am a college student studying Computer Science and I have been using a mid 2015 MacBook Pro for all of my classes. It runs like it’s brand new but the only issue is the speed. I can tell it’s slowing down so I was looking at the framework laptops and heard nothing but good things from them. The only issue was the battery. I was wondering if I should upgrade to the framework laptop or replace the RAM in my current MacBook and continue programming on it.

1 Like
  • It runs like it’s brand new

• I can tell it’s slowing down

If you notice the fan is getting louder, you might have a dust problem. If it’s slowing down without cause, back up your school work before it slows down to zero. The 2015 should still have the built in Apple Hardware Test as I recall, that’ll give you a brief look at whether something is failing in an obvious way.

As to your proposed solution, I believe that model has soldered memory and you’re stuck with what you’ve got.

Just something to consider.

2 Likes

Should I just upgrade to a framework laptop instead? The customizability of it should make the laptop last a while too as you can just replace broken parts in the future. I had my Mac for some time now anyways so I just need opinions.

I love my Framework. I happen to have a 2015 MBP 13" as well but I never take it with me anymore (though they nailed that trackpad. I do miss it.) But you’re asking a complicated question. Is the Framework going to be faster? Yes. Will the battery last as long? Probably not, but the AMD mainboards are a big unknown so far. Will it survive past graduation? More likely than the MacBook but who knows? Are you going to miss the MagSafe charger? Probably Connector, probably, brick and weird gummy Apple Rubber, probably not. Is this the best use of your money as a college student when you already have a working laptop?