GPU Passthrough using the expansion bay

Hey everyone,

I am an avid Linux user and the Framework 16 is shaping up to be the ultimate all-in-one machine.

The only thing I am unsure about (as I have little experience doing this) is the possibility of GPU Passthrough using a GPU in the expansion slot for the ultimate VM experience.

Thanks for any help.

2 Likes

I don’t think we will have an answer to that question until the laptop is available and it can be tested.
We still do not know if the laptop will have a MUX switch for the screen, even after the deep dive on the subject.

I am also hoping that all this will be supported and won’t buy until I know for sure that it was correctly implemented.

2 Likes

Ah, I see.
Thanks for the help

@Darius_C what do you do in a VM utilizing a GPU, and what VM software do you use? I’ve yet to find a good workflow for either productive GPU usage or gaming.

Could be used for Windows games with restrictive anti-cheats (aka blocking Proton)

@RandomRanger Don’t know about their use case, but personally I find it useful for a Mac VM I use for digital art and development. It’s nice to have hardware acceleration on a canvas or with some graphical design apps which are mac only. On the development side, this is used mostly for applications targeting MacOS or IOS. Though, for both usecases, it can be quite hard to get up and running and sometimes an older version or second GPU is needed.