[RESPONDED] Can't do initial login with fingerprint (Ubuntu 22.04)

I’ve got an AMD Laptop 13 that I’m dual booting with windows 11 and ubuntu 22.04 (I’m on the 6.5.0-1020-oem kernel). I can get my fingerprint stored in ubuntu just fine, but it just doesn’t seem to do anything on initial login. I see a prompt for my password and the message “(or place finger on reader)” but using my finger print does nothing. I ultimately have to sign in with my password.

If I lock my user session in ubuntu after initial login I can authenticate with the fingerprint reader just fine though.

I’m pretty new to ubuntu so I’m mostly stock and haven’t messed with many things under the hood. I think the most advanced I’ve gotten is installing gnome-tweaks so that I can scale my desktop wallpaper.

For what it’s worth, I did see a post that mentioned not using a finger print for login on both windows and ubuntu simultaneously. I removed my Windows Hello fingerprint authentication method, and my finger prints in ubuntu. Then re-added my finger print hoping that would solve it but no luck.

Oh, maybe it matters here but I am using pam_mount to mount a network share on login. Maybe I can’t use a finger print as an authentication method because pam_mount expects a password?

Anything you can think of for me to try would be appreciated.

Hi @ryhadar ,

Can we first check if there is currently an enrolled fingerprints under your account?

fprintd-list username

replace username with your user name.
cheers! :slight_smile:

Hi there, thanks for the assist. Here’s what I’ve got:

found 1 devices
Device at /net/reactivated/Fprint/Device/0
Using device /net/reactivated/Fprint/Device/0
Fingerprints for user myuser on Goodix MOC Fingerprint Sensor (press):
 - #0: right-index-finger

Let my summarize your situation:

• fingerprint authentication works does NOT work in GDM login screen
  • fingerprint authentication works fine in GNOME lock screen