[RESPONDED] Linux Mint 21.3 Edge Boot Error

Hello all, I just fresh installed LM 21.3 Edge and am getting the following error on boot,

cros_ec_lpcs cros_ec_lpcs.0: EC ID not detected

FW13 AMD 7840
Bios 3.03
Kernel 6.5.0-21-generic

And idea what could be going on? I am a Linux noob so sorry if this is a dumb question. Thanks

Welcome to the community!

Error itself is fine if it still boots, but you will see this error on Mint. We recommend Ubuntu 22.04.3 using our guide or Fedora 39 for the best experience.

Thanks for the welcome and response. It does still boot but maybe I should go with a better supported distro. I went with Mint because when you search best distros for Linux noobs, it is pretty much universally recommended. Either way, thanks for the help.

I do get 2 other errors, when I boot,

r8152 6-1:1.0: ram code speedup mode fail

r8152 6-1:1.0 (unnamed net_device) (uninitialized) : netif_napi_add_weight() called with weight 256

I only get these two when the FW Ethernet card is in. If i remove the card and reboot and leave it out it doesn’t show these errors. If i put it back in and run dmesg they come back up. If i remove it again and run dmesg, I get even more errors. Are these a Mint thing or unrelated? Sorry, my intent isn’t too turn this into a catch-all thread. I’ll ask separately if its better. Thanks

Appreciate this. Linux Mint is a fine distro, but we want to be closer to bleeding edge. And while Ubuntu 22.04.x is LTS and not super new, we address this with our guide (OEM D kernel, PPA for power profile daemon, etc).

Errors are usually just verbose FYIs, unless there is a clear visible issue that occurs. Dmesg, journalctl, and so on can be pretty verbose.

In short, if you are seeing errors at boot or in the logs, we don’t worry about that unless there is a direct issue found. :slight_smile: