Touchpad scroll and right-click not working on Linux Mint Edge

Hi, I can’t seem to get my touchpad scroll or right-click to work, despite the mouse pointer function working fine on the touchpad. I’m using kernel 5.13 on Linux Mint Edge, with no other obvious issues. I’ve attempted to update the kernel to 5.15 to see if that fixes the issue, but despite it being “installed” in update manager, 5.13 is still the “active” kernel, and there is no “install” button showing when I click 5.15 (just Queue Removal and Remove). However, it seems like the touchpad should be fully supported and functional out of the box with 5.13, so I’m not sure what’s wrong. Obviously, I’m new to Linux.

Kernel: 5.13.0-27-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: N/A Desktop: Cinnamon 5.2.7
wm: muffin dm: LightDM Distro: Linux Mint 20.3 Una base: Ubuntu 20.04 focal

Could you try Kubuntu 22.04 for me, @m0ng00se? I wonder if Mint’s changes are breaking things, considering it’s named “Edge”, instability should be expected.

You think I have to jump straight to changing the OS? That strikes me as a little extreme, especially because I’m otherwise happy with Mint. Edge is supposed to be an officially supported distro for the Framework laptop, if I’m not mistaken (if not the most heavily tested).

I have my differences with Framework’s distro recommendations. Personally, I think they’re horribly wrong for some mentions. There’s a lot of misinformation regarding Linux out there.

I have done additional research, the Linux Mint user guide states the following

The Edge ISO image is not as stable as the other ISOs and may not support as many proprietary drivers. Only use it if you cannot boot or install with the other ISOs.

I’m mostly curious to see if Mint broke stuff, I’ve had the touchpad work perfectly fine in X and Wayland on Ubuntu 22.04 and openSUSE Tumbleweed, so I’m thinking Mint broke something.

Also, Ubuntu has liveUSBs, you don’t have to overwrite any install.