Very loud electric sound. Graphics or processor?

I hope framework solves it.

What is your opinion?

Hard to tell without hearing it in person, but I would have guessed the fan scraping on something. Unless this is happening when the fan isn’t running.

My FL16 does it too. First heard it when I was installing Windows in a quiet room just a few minutes after assembling the laptop. Seems to happen mainly while writing data to the SSD, I think. Maybe reading and writing. Pretty sure it’s not the fans.

I am no expert on the matter but I think of this as a fairly normal behavior of electronics. Not necessarily an issue. Can be annoying though. If it’s exceptionally loud, it might point to something being out of spec. In my case I don’t consider it loud and only notice it when the room is silent.

No, this happens when the fans are not activated.

I have spoken to another user and he tells me that it doesn’t happen to him and that it is not normal.

Waiting for Marco’s response

1 Like

More…

Hello, I have been doing tests

-If I use a 100 w charger the sound does not play (I think)

-If I use the battery the sound does not play

-If I use the 180 w charger with a different cable (usb c) the sound also seems to disappear (I think so, I’ll try it again later). But it is true that the USB C cable that I used supports a maximum of 100 W, so the higher the voltage, the noise that is not normal will occur.

Could it be the usb c cable that comes standard with the 180 w charger?

Or is it a special cable since the stock charger has more power?

Well I’m not deaf but it was difficult to hear ?? so others may not think it’s there ?

There is no ‘normal’ especially when it comes to such fine issues, it’s very subjective.

You may also like to change the Category to Framework laptop 16" especially as it may also be down to the charger/cable.

Generally as I only have a 13" I only want updates of that category and blank others.