Would it be possible to hack and integrate MBP's speakers in the Framework?

Title. I can see that those speakers are quite available when looking after replacement parts on Google. As the sound is really laud and deep on MacBook Pro (even on ipads) I was wondering if it would be feasible to replace the original one by Apple’s one. I’m no electronic expert and not really able to understand schematics (yet) so …
Any thoughts on this ?

It is possible electrically. If it would fit mechanically I don’t know.

But be aware that the design of loudspeakers is more than just the speaker itself. The housing around it has a huge influence on the result. Actually, you need to develop both tightly together for a satisfactory result. That’s what Apple is doing (plus some psychoacoustic tricks).
So if you transfer the speakers from a MBP to a FW and it fits mechanically it will sound much different.

tl;dr: possible? Probably yes. Reasonable? No.

2 Likes

Reasonable is boring XD.

Can’t we stick speacers to the side of the screen that double as port covers when closed?

1 Like

Well I don’t have my laptop yet so I can’t tinker around but I’ll take a look for sure. I might be able to get my hands on some speakers of an old MBP so …
For the curious one, here are the references for the MBP speakers : 923-0557, 923-00509.
They seems to be smaller than the one of the framework when I look at the kit : Framework | Speaker Kit

I also remember seeing an article somewhere describing how at least on modern Macs, Apple uses a system that runs the speakers above a consistently safe power (for the speakers), along with a model for how the speakers will heat, which gives dynamic limits for power that the system then enforces. This apparently allows significantly better quality and louder sound. Unfortunately, I can’t find that article now.