Battery performance FW13 AMD with new 2.8K Screen

Hey everyone

I’m looking to buy an AMD FW13 with the new 2.8K display and the 7840U. I figured, the new Intel Core Ultra chips don’t really matter to me, since performance under linux does not appear to be that much different (?) and this is not very important to me anyway.

What is important to me is battery life. As I’m looking to buy the FW13 with the new display, I wonder, what difference it makes in terms of battery life compared to the older 2256 x 1504 60Hz matte display.

As I’m not that experienced in terms of hardware, I have a hard time estimating this. Does someone have any insights on this?

Hi and welcome to the forum.

Nice question :slight_smile: but unlike an OLED it only uses a backlight, so the number of pixels would make no difference. It could be 1 or a billion

1 Like

Ah, thanks! The OLED thing is exactly what happened when I bought my current device. I went for the OLED screen and my battery performance is horrible because of it :frowning:

Good to know that this won’t be an issue then!

2 Likes

Looking at the title: :slight_smile:

You still may have an issue with the new AMD with 2.8 Screen but caused by screen in the sense I mentioned. You never know what else is under the hood.

take care

The new display has VRR, which is supposed to improve battery life. It’s not just a resolution bump.

2 Likes

There are a several caveats:

1. Higher resolution means more work for your graphics card.
  2. Higher pixel requires a stronger backlight (more stuff in front of the backlight).
  3. More pixels means more pixels to control. Not even close to the power requirements of the backlight, but still a factor.