Can you boot off of a MicroSD card?

Presumably the card is presented as a USB mass storage device, but I thought I’d double check here first.

1 Like

I am not an expert but I believe it will depend on whether the firmware permits it. I had a Dell XPS 13 which had a setting in the BIOS to allow booting from it’s MicroSD card slot and it worked. I used it to boot MiniTool Partition Wizard to allow me to change the partitioning on my primary drive. So TL:DR, yes you can but either Framework or someone who has already received theirs will be able to confirm.

We haven’t tried it (that I know of), but it should work the same as any other USB flash drive.

6 Likes

Following:

Would Love to have this option to multi-boot for work. Being able to run something like Windows on the internal and dual boot to Kubuntu, Kali, Elementary, etc… on a MicroSD would be amazing.

Mine is on order to be shipped in the 3rd batch. If anyone would test and feedback that would be amazing…

Thanks

I plan to try this today if I get any time at all. I’ll reply when I do.

2 Likes

OK, the answer is definitely you can. It is a little slower than I’d like, but I was relatively easily able to install Lubuntu to a crappy 128gb micro SD I had lying around, and it worked better than expected. Even encrypted the install. I’m liking this idea, if for no other reason than to try out different flavors of Ubuntu.

Give it a try for your use case. I don’t think that Windows would work very well off of this, but who knows, maybe LTSC will.

6 Likes

You’re awesome. Thank you for testing it. Definitely great to hear.

1 Like

Note that the MicroSD Expansion Card also handles UFS Cards, which are much faster, especially at random read/write. That will probably a deliver a more usable OS experience.

8 Likes

I had planned to try it anyway, but thanks! Glad I could give a little back to this astounding community.

I have done all of my OS installs via boot from sdcard.