How do I place Framework 16 Macropad into QMK bootloader (flashing) mode?

Introductory rant, can be skipped
I bought a new Framework 16 with Macropad intending to configure it according to my specific needs. I tried to use recommended way of doing this ( VIA (frame.work)), but this web-based software is both limited and buggy. The fact that you can’t do per-key RGB control is limiting, but the fact that it does not even allow me to assign some keys without any explanations is plain inexcusable. For example, for reasons that I do not understand, it just ignores my request to set the lower right key as Enter.

Problem definition
OK, being a software engineer myself, at that point I decided to go the QMK way. I have read this topic which contains a step-by-step guide in one of the answers: Custom QMK firmware? - #14 by MJ1
The problem I am facing is this: the guide explains how to place Framework 16 Keyboard and Numpad into bootloader mode, but it does not explain it for Macropad. Has anyone successfully placed the Macropad into bootloader mode and if yes, can you share exact sequence of actions to accomplish that?

OK, I found a solution to the problem. Here is a specific sequence that will work regardless whether you have a short circuit protection on or off in BIOS:

1. Make sure keyboard, macropad and touchpad modules are all connected to the laptop
  2. Power up your Framework 16 laptop
  3. Connect external USB keyboard
  4. Remove touchpad module
  5. Remove Macropad
  6. Press and hold a Macropad button located right under the top left button
  7. Reconnect Macropad, do not release the button you are holding
  8. Reconnect touchpad module while still holding the button
  9. Macropad will now show up as a removable disk drive in your OS

The things that I was originally missing when trying to place the Macropad into the bootloader mode:

1. The magic key is only documented for Numpad, but not for the Macropad