Integrated UPS for Hot-swappable Battery

I’m trying to integrate a diy UPS internally between a laptop battery and the motherboard for hot swap battery functionality.

I am using a framework 13 motherboard and a framework 16 85Wh battery. Pinout of the 16's 85whr battery?

It has been confirmed in another thread that the 16 battery will perfectly power the 13 laptop without any problems if configured as shown.

I am very new to circuits and batteries, but should the attached schematic work without issue? I am not 100% certain of what all of these connections actually do, but I would like a UPS to activate once the main battery has been depleted or detached.

Is this the right place for a question like this? Thanks!

Where are you planning to insert the UPS and how do you intend to mount the external battery?

Also, I think this is exactly the right place in the forum to ask about this.

2 Likes

There are quite a few considerations that you have to make in your design. Firstly, the FW16 battery communicates over SMBus (DAT_SMB/CLK_SMB) with the computer, and has a SYS_PRES pin (not sure if telling the battery its plugged in or the computer), and VRTC (separate voltage for the RTC, or clock signal?). You will likely need some way of managing these signals in the absence of a battery, which means some kind of microcontroller sitting between the battery and FW 13 board with your UPS sitting in between for other things.

Additionally, you will need to switch from the external battery voltage to the internal UPS battery. This will probably involve some kind of “power mux,” which will switch between two different power sources. This may produce some issues, as the external battery voltage will not be the same as the internal mux battery, so there may be some inrush current when connecting the internal battery.