Low-End Plans?

I LOVE that the Framework concept is being executed with high quality parts. I plan to buy a 16-in. one. That being said, I would also love to see a low-end (cheap) version of the laptop eventually be created, specifically because I think this would be excellent in schools (I’m a teacher at a Montessori school), and most elementary/jr high/high schools don’t need something nice, they need something affordable. I love the idea of being able to teach the kids to repair their own machines, or at least show them what’s inside, etc. And besides, simply having easily repairable machines would be SO nice for schools, and probably much more affordable as well.

I would expect this economy edition would simply be another compatible set of parts, kind of like the Chromebook version (which I know is currently the more affordable option), but with cheaper frame, low-spec mainboard, cheaper HD (if that’s even possible, I know probably only solid state will fit), etc.

Has this sort of option been considered before, or would it likely be taken under consideration in the future? Or, are there already plans for such a thing?

P.S,

Thanks guys! I love what you’re doing, this project is amazing, and is basically everything I’ve wanted from technology for a long time. Thanks for doing it right.

(Not sure if this is the right place to give feedback like this, so feel free to move it, sorry - I didn’t see a better spot.)

8 Likes

Logistics and development are likely a huge parts of the expenses for Framework as they’re such a small company. Thus it probably makes more sense for them to make relatively few relatively expensive parts instead of figuring out cheap mass production.

3 Likes

I wanted to pick up an i3-N305 from Aliexpress, looking at the listings (just wanted a budget system to play with the system). I realised the BOM cost of the whole system excluding the mainboard isn’t as insignificant as we thought to be.