Recommendations for Learning Linux

My Framework laptop is finally on the way and I’ll be installing Linux. I’ve never used Linux and I’m going to use the Framework laptop as an opportunity to try it out and learn it. Haven’t decided on a distro yet, but as I’ve never used it before, I’ll probably just pick one and see how it goes. Maybe I’ll try others once I get a basic understanding of what I’m doing.

Are there any recommended resources for learning the basics of Linux? Maybe something about learning the terminal/command line? I’m fine with research and I’m sure I could find my way to some info, but I just thought I’d see if this community had any suggestions since there seem to be quite a few Linux users here.

3 Likes

I’m also fairly new to Linux and my recommendation is twofold:
1, start small. Learn applications, use beginner distros like Mint or Pop for the first while, and get a feel for it.
And 2, don’t expect Linux to look, behave, or react like Windows or MacOS. Those are different animals from the cartoon penguin, and not meant to be treated the same.

Watch videos on YouTube for a while, too. You’ll pick up on terms and lingo, as well as a vague idea of what’s right and wrong.
I recommend The Linux Experiment and DistroTube, but there are many channels in many languages on many focuses. You’ll eventually find one that you’ll enjoy and learn from.

4 Likes

Also keep in mind that there are certain problems related to Framework hardware on a number of distros, so be sure to check the linux section of this forum if you run into driver issues

3 Likes

Thanks for the tip. I have been reading up about the various distros on the Framework.

2 Likes

I did the same i went with Ubuntu with my only experience being some messing around in a terminal on Kali on a raspberry pi and im loving linux its much better than windows

2 Likes