[RESPONDED] Blocky artifacts on AMD Framework laptop 13

Hey there! I’ve been using the laptop for a few months now and it’s awesome! Recently, I’ve decided to connect it to my second monitor and noticed - sometimes - blocky artifacts appear (mainly on the laptop’s monitor but sometimes on the second monitor as well). This happens both when connected directly via HDMI and using a dock connected to the laptop’s USB C port (yes, it is the port on the back-left).

My setup:

Framework laptop 13 with AMD Ryzen 7040
Arch Linux with Gnome running on Wayland

I have tried (as recommended on Archwiki here ) to include amdgpu.sg_display=0 in my kernel params but with no success.

This is how the artifacts look like:

Does anyone know how this can be fixed? Or how to find a way to debug/find a way to fix this?

Thanks!

Try

amdgpu.graphics_sg=0 amdgpu.sg_display=0
1 Like

Can you please try to downgrade the GPU firmware from January to December and see if this goes away? Don’t forget to rebuild initrd if you put it in there.

2 Likes

Tried this, sadly does not work. ):

What do you mean by downgrading the GPU firmware?

There is a file dcn_3.1.4_dmcub.bin that is stored in /lib/firmware/amdgpu.

An update was released in January that I am suspecting is causing this problem. If you can revert it to the version before that it could confirm.

See if the version before January’s helps.

Hey, I’ve got the exact same issue. Framework 13 AMD, 64gb with arch and i3.

How would I downgrade the driver? Is it just a case of replacing that file with an older version then rebooting?

Download this version

And replace it in your filesystem and rebuild the initrd and reboot.

I faced this on 6.7.0 when I got my laptop last week but haven’t faced this after downgrading to linux-lts which is 6.6.x.

I also use GNOME on Wayland + Arch.

Would you mind bisecting it?

Sure, I will spend some time tomorrow on this and get back.