SSD overheating

Hi everyone,

I’m new to the Framework family and excited to begin my journey with all of you. I just bought a Framework laptop with the following configuration:

• Processor: AMD Ryzen 7 7840U
  • Memory: 16GB DDR5-5600 (2 x 8GB)
  • Storage: WD_BLACK™ SN770 NVMe™ M.2 2280 - 500GB
  • Operating System: Ubuntu 24.04 LTS

I’m a complete newbie to Linux, so I would appreciate any advice you might have!

I have a question about my SSD’s operating temperature. I’ve noticed that the SSD runs at around 70°C during normal use, such as web browsing, typing this post, and watching videos (see image attached). Is this normal?

Additionally, the bottom surface of the laptop feels quite warm, around 45°C, based on my estimation. Is this something I should be concerned about?

Thanks in advance for your help!

1 Like

Sensor 1 on the SN770 is the controller, which doesn’t mind heat as much. Sensor 2 is near the NAND, which doesn’t like heat.

Pretty much all the sensors in your laptop are in the mid-40s Celsius. What’s your ambient temperature? Is the laptop on a hard surface (like a table) or something softer, like your lap? The intakes might be getting partially blocked.

Hello @Lartigue_Lionel,

Welcome to the community. Congratulations on your Framework Laptop 13! The temperatures you are describing are not out of the ordinary. The SSD you have like most modern quality drives have great response to thermal extremes and will automatically dial themselves back.

Newer systems, especially laptops are designed to run higher temperatures than what was traditionally considered normal. They all have monitoring circuitry to dial themselves back if they are pushing themselves too hard.

Like @Forge said, keeping your laptop on a hard surface will ensure that it is getting proper airflow to keep itself within operating temperatures.

Enjoy the new machine and welcome to the Linux community as well. :grin: