Type of glue to use to fix the touchpad cable finger-loop?

I managed to break the small loop on the touchpad cable, the one to put the finger in to easily lift the connector.

I’ve tried to fix it by using some superglue, but it didn’t hold.

I’m a complete noob in this kind of DIY repair… does anybody have a clue about which kind of glue would successfully work on this material?

(problem compounded by the fact that, now, there is some patch of dry superglue on the loop ribbon…)

Mine broke a while ago. I wouldnt worry about it.

@Jason_Dagless
Thanks to let me know that the problem did not only happened to me!

On my side, I care for 2 reasons:
1/ easiness of use and to keep the connector parallel to the socket when lifting it (and avoid damaging the socket on the mainboard)
2/ aesthetics and resell value

1. How often do you use it? Most people, roughly once, ever.
  2. No buyer will care about such a minor fault

I used it a ton of times, probably more than 50 times.
I have done diagnostics for a mainboard problem, and that requires to disconnect/reconnect this cable a lot of times.

I also upgraded the mainboard once (in addition to the RMA’d mainboard swap), the speakers, swapped RAM and SSD with another laptop, did around 4~5 mainboard resets…

So you see, I do use quite a lot this cable connector :sweat_smile:

And I do believe a buyer will at the very least notice it, because they will probably swap in their own SSD. But, admittedly, my main reason is 1/.

So now with “why” I want to repair it being addressed, I hope I can attract suggestions about “how” to do it!