Video editing with Framework 12th Gen

Hi,
I’m a video editor who’s currently a mac user since 2009 and i’m getting so fedup with non-upgradeable storage,RAM and even battery with my current Macbook Pro 2017. Long story short I’m looking for an alternative to the mac that does everything I want it to do, save money and lets me upgrade storage, RAM and replace the battery myself.

I’ve seen Framework has released new laptops with 12th gen Intel CPU,s and was wondering if anyone here has managed to edit 4K video in Premiere Pro or Davinci Resolve without any issues or slowdowns? How fast does it encode videos in handbrake.

I’m also wondering what geekbench scores look like for the Core i5 1240p and Core i7 1260p CPUs used in these laptops? Can anyone help me make a buying decision for my next laptop as I find the PC laptop world rather confusing compared to the mac world? Thanks

2 Likes

Hi and welcome to the forum.

I don’t think the Gen12 are in circulation yet :slight_smile:

First batch are due in July

1 Like

It’s just that now you have more choices. Instead of being tied to whatever Apple give you, you can now decide which processor, graphics, etc.

The framework have (roughly) 28W of (continuous) cooling power, so it might vary.
But in geekbench 5 the i7-1260P scored 1635 and 8078, single and multi core respectively.
Some other devices (some early samsung) reports higher scores of 1721 and 9697
i7-1260p
i5-1240p

Put alongside … what macbook do you have? M1? Intel … ?
I think if it is a Intel platform the Framework will definitely be faster. The M1 is quite a interesting chip, and probably beats the 1260 in some ways but I think 1260 with the raw power (of 28W) should handle better.

At the very least, this laptop won’t just sit there and let the CPU go to 100 degrees.

Ok here’s the spec of my current macbook pro 15in 2017:
Core i7 2.9Ghz (7th gen) processor
16GB RAM (maximum supported RAM and I require more.Soldered in and not upgradable)