What was the main reason you bought the Framework Laptop?

I’m in batch 3 and I ordered the 12th generation 1280P due to wanting maximum CPU performance and memory. The good thing is I can upgrade to 64gb memory.

The main reason I bought the Framework was due to the blog post about the difference between the 11th generation and 12 generation post. I have an Asus i7 notebook N550JV which is a really good performance laptop which I run Ubuntu on but unfortunately the spinning hard drive is slow and failing. Maybe I’ll get around to fixing that. I like the excitement of getting a brand new laptop.

The interesting thing even though I am a software engineer I am never that interested in assembling it or disassembling it but I like knowing I can do the memory upgrade or motherboard upgrade when the time comes. But I never bought the framework due to the upgradability. But I appreciate it. It’s a value add.

I also have an 10th generation i7 Intel FNHi7NUC which is awesome and fast. It’s like a more expensive raspberry pi. It is currently my desktop computer and runs lots of virtual machines fine.

I did have a 128GB RAM and 32 core AMD Threadripper but I gave it away to a Church friend due to moving house and I was not well at the time.

I hope you shall share what was the ultimate reason that caused you to buy a Framework. Was it the upgrade ability? The sustainability? Wanted a new gadget?