Will there be a long battery life version?

In my view, Framework’s laptops provides light & thin, with moderate performance user experience. What I want most for these kind of laptops is long battery life cause I don’t need them to be powerful, to handle heavy tasks, but I need them to be available for most of the time.

But again, longer battery life means larger battery size, larger battery size leads to compact motherboard, and compact motherboard have to sacrifice some expansion capability. For example, on DELL XPS, if you choose a larger battery version, you would lose an m.2 slot. The current design of Framework looks tight enough for me, so I guess the long battery version requires a new and compact mother board design which may go against right to repair.

I was a Macbook pro 2015 user, it’s performance and battery life meets my need. However, it’s 8G memory, which I can’t upgrade, is such a pain. I guess Macbook’s compact design giving it a longer battery life.

Back to the question, will there be a long battery life version? I sincerely hope Framework could build something with, say 70Wh battery, while keeping all the magnificent design.

2 Likes

+1 for framework bottom plate with a bulge ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) to accommodate a ‘slice’ battery beyond the capacity of the existing one.

maybe the extra thiccness could even be used to enable deeper keyboards, paving the way for a low profile cherry mx keyboard, and / or trackpoint.

3 Likes