(Yet Another) RP2040 Expansion Card, With 10x2 Exposed 2.54mm Pins

Hello, just posting about my RP2040 board for feedback/posterity. How did I do? Is there a better way to expose pins for general purpose use? Should I have done anything much differently? Do you want one?

Why

I’m a student, and I like the RP2040 because of the sheer number of peripheral systems and great documentation. I figured this would be a good portfolio piece and it’s something I want to own.

Features

1. Exposed diode protected 5V VSYS from USB
  2. Exposed 3.3V 600mA LDO regulator (not diode protected)
  3. 12 GPIO exposed, with 10 sequential GPIO exposed for use with PIO
  4. GP26-29: ADCs
  5. GP0-5: UART, SPI0, and I2C
  6. GP20-21: I2C0 and Clock In/Out Mux
  7. Bootselect and run pins exposed, so it can be reprogrammed without being removed
  8. Functional USB device with a stable 12MHz crystal
  9. SWD pins exposed for programming with external devices supporting SWD
  10. Expansion card sized :slight_smile:
  11. Requires no modification to the default CMAKE settings to function, and has many default peripheral pins exposed (although many Arduino developers hate nice numbers like GP0-1 for UART, so I can’t guarantee anything)

Notes

It had to work with as little guesswork as possible first of all, so I used the board template and USB-C device from the Framework github repo. https://github.com/FrameworkComputer/ExpansionCards/tree/main/Electrical/KiCad_templates.

I wanted to reduce the software development requirements, so as many defaults native to the OEM Pico needed to be designed onto the board as possible:

• GPIO Pins 0-5 are exposed as the standard interfaces of UART0-1 and I2C0-1, (although SPI0 is fully exposed many libraries seem to use GP4-7)
  • A 12MHz crystal is used so the CMAKE definition doesn’t have to be changed for C compilation, and the board works well when software expects the OEM Pico. This also enables full USB functionality