Cooling Fan Expansion Card

I was thinking of an expansion card of some tiny fans for cooling. Maybe on/off switch with 3 settings for in/off/out

It should be simple enough to do right? Not 100% sure how effective it would be for cooling the laptop but I thought it would be an easy and fun idea to try

All it would really do is draw power from the usb-c connection.

Thoughts?

Welcome to the forum.
Would it be for cooling the laptop, or the user?
I’d love to see a little fold-out fan for cooling the user.

If it’s for the cooling the laptop how would you be moving air in / out? If you haven’t looked, the expansion card slots are closed off inside, no path to push air through. Or are you talking about the FWL16 expension bay?

I’m not a mechanical engineer but the idea seems kinda hard, especially on a framework 13 where it would be difficult to really cool anything if the existing cooling system is not made for it. Maybe they could ship later an improved framework 16 cooler when no GPU is attached but that seems to be as close as we would get to it.

For expansion cards, even if air could get through if the fan was at the bottom and we opened the side of the card, it would need to hit some kind of thermally conductive material (copper heat pipes) to cool the system. That currently is not present in frameworks (well, not accessible from the expansion cards rather). And if we were to make it, that would meanthat we would make other expansion cards very hot, which could very well be a problem for example for the performance of external expansion SSDs or potentially a bigger issue / fire hazard as the melting point of plastic is low (60 to 65°C for some PLA used in 3D printing) and the CPU can get up to 100°C.