Ethernet RJ45

I hope I just missed it, but it seems Framework is WiFi only. Is there a module for RJ45 Ethernet?

7 Likes

As it stands it is WiFi only (unless you use a USB to Ethernet dongle) as there isn’t a RJ45 port on the laptop chassis or an RJ45 expansion card option… yet.

The good news is that Gigabit Ethernet was voted the most wanted new expansion card and Framework have confirmed they are already in the works, in the form of an oversized expansion card

9 Likes

Hopefully there’ll be an RJ-45 ethernet phy module soon.
Wired ethernet is a hard and fast requirement for me, so that stopped me from pulling the trigger on a purchase. I’m gratified to see there’s some activity on this, so I’ll hold tight and watch closely for now.

@Zack_DeKatt - would a usb-c to ethernet adapter suffice? That’s effectively what the dedicated module will be doing. I am not a hardware engineer, so perhaps the dedicated module will be more efficient, or there are other concerns that I am not thinking of.

1 Like

I’ve been a regular laptop user, pretty much since they were widely & commercially available. (Yes I’m that old.) As a consequence, I have developed a serious distaste for dongles over these many years: they’ve always been far too easily damaged, lost or stolen. I suppose I’ve pretty much grown to expect an rj-45 port on just about any piece of tech I buy. :wink:

Zack,

DataVue Spark, 2 720 floppies, before that IBM 360 with a teletype machine and punch cards. I have RJ45 on everything else except my Fire tablet. Never had an even earlier desktop with a 5.25 floppy.

Hope the second generation has a builtin RJ45 port and an internal mini-sd.

Nick

Glad a RJ-45 adapter is in the works. How “oversize” is it likely to be?