Fan Noise Reports Holding Me Back

Brand-newbie here, bear with me.

I only heard of Framework laptops after the announcement of availability of the 12th-Gen Intel CPUs. I was thoroughly intrigued with the whole concept, and right on the verge of submitting my pre-order, but thought I’d better sift through some feedback/reviews first, which I have done.

And at this point, literally the only thing holding me back is the reporting of annoyingly loud fan noise, which is moreover somewhat unpredictable (i.e., not obviously associated with CPU load).

I (mostly) understand the tradeoffs involved with trying to shed heat from a thin, high performance laptop. And, I would frankly rather the system run the fan and maintain clock speed rather than throttle it down, even if it drains the battery. But, I have to admit that I’m fond of the quiet, and if this thing is going to ramp up to 50+ dB on even a sporadic basis (much less a regular one), it’s going to drive me nuts.

For context, my order would likely be the i7-1260P, with 32GB ram (2x16 DDR4-3200). I’m not a gamer per se, but would be doing a fair amount of CPU-intensive work (scientific computing, image/video editing, ray-tracing/rendering).

I’m sure the Framework development team is fully aware of the existing commentary on fan noise, and I hope it’s part of their future development considerations. Pending any encouraging news on this front, I remain a lurker for now, but am very much rooting for the Framework paradigm to take hold.

3 Likes

I run Linux on mine (a few different distros but primarily Garuda Linux) and I’m pretty sure I’ve only even heard the fan turn on a single time while I was trying out the Gnome DE a few months back. It was not noisy and turned off shortly after it had come on. I also regularly shut down the device when it isn’t being used which helps.