How to get to point you can have per key RGB control for keyboard and macropad?

i have seen two different posts glossing over this but i need a step by step guide and i feel others do too to set everything up and to change the per key color. i have some knowledge of light coding but trying to follow what was posted or the framework github directory has left me pulling out my hair. I cant figure out what files are even needed from keyboard directory. i just want to make certain keys same color while rest are different depending on the task. i wasnt expecting to have to go down a huge rabbit hole to get it to work but if i could follow a full guide then it would make all the difference in the world.

1 Like

You’ll want to clone the branch for the latest release. I wrote a little step-by-step here

β€’ Controlling a particular key’s LED / per key color, step-by-step.

You can use this function to set the color of a given LED.

rgb_matrix_set_color(index, r, g, b)

docs.qmk.fm/#/feature_rgb_matrix?id=direct-operation
It would be placed into your keymap.c file. Exactly where you’d put it depends on what you’re looking to do.

But you see that the rgb_matrix_set_color(index, r, g, b) function requires the index number of the LED. You’ll have to look that up.

It’s not obvious how to do it, and it’s a multi-step process cross-referencing files, for each and every key. So it really needs a step-by-step how-to.

Step-by-step, Finding LED index numbers for each key

Let’s use the macropad as an example. I believe you would find the LED index like this:

Go to /framework/macropad/macropad.h and find the keymatrix location for the key you wish to control.

#define LAYOUT( \
    H1,    H2,    H3,    H4, \
   K90,   K95,  K100,  K105, \
   K91,   K96,  K101,  K107, \
   K92,   K97,  K102,  K106, \
   K93,   K98,  K103,  K109, \
   K99,  K110,  K104,  K108  \
) \
{ \
  {   K90,   K91,   K92,   K93,   K95,   K96,   K97,   K98 }, \