Keyboard - more control over layout (if there is no way we get more keys)

Hello.
I’m very interested in Framework Laptop project.
But I can’t see myself happily using it due to poor keyboard layout.

I’m a programmer, I’m using Home/End/PgUp/PgDn keys a lot. Current layout requires both hand to input them, which I find unacceptable.

What alternatives exist on the market, other than 100% layout with Num block:

• Vertical Home/PgUp/PgDn/End keys block at the right side of the keyboard. This is well known solution and it was proposed a lot in other threads already. Unfortunately, I’m quite pessimistic about the chances it will be offered. Current state seems to be half-assed cost-optimized and totally depends on mass-market.

• Fn key next to arrow keys. Would allow to use most frequent combinations singlehandedly. I think it was most often seen on Sony laptops. Without sacrificing Alt or Ctrl key that would require a different hardware layout with space key moved to the left.

• Dedicated Home/End/PgUp/PgDn keys in the F-keys row instead of other special keys. I wonder whether this is patented by Microsoft, because it is exclusive to their Surface laptops and keyboard covers afaik. Honestly, I would prefer Surface laptop just because of this feature. If there is no legal argument against such layout then it can be offered on the same hardware.

• Good support for permanent OS-independent custom layouts, so anyone could make something acceptable with the hardware we’re given. I see there is some firmware editing experiment already but it seems to be non-permanent and OS-dependent (I use Windows so it doesn’t seem suitable for me).

More topics (sorry, as a new user I can’t put many links even to existing forum topics):

• Framework | Framework Laptop Keyboard (blog post)
  • Alternative Keyboard layouts - Framework Laptop - Framework Community
  • PgUp PgDn Home End Keys - Framework Laptop - Framework Community