Linux BIOS Update

Hey all, I feel like I shouldn’t be making this post but I feel I need to do a dummy check. Been trying to update my BIOS on Linux Ubuntu 24.04 but am having zero luck. Using the link they shared in the email I follow the directions but I think I’m having issues with my thumb drive? It’s formatted as FAT32, at least it was formatted like that in windows, I can’t format on Linux for some reason because it’s having issues unmounting even though it formatted fine in the terminal. I can see the files on the thumb drive, but the system won’t let me boot to the thumb drive. Not sure what I’m doing wrong as this is my first time trying to update this way. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

I have very little information on the topic, but have you made sure that Secure Boot is turned off?

I have indeed double checked secure boot is off. I’ve even gone in and erased all secure boot settings. The thumb drive is just not showing up on the EFI Boot Devices. What additional information would be useful? I’m trying my best here as a new Linux user haha

If you’re new to Linux, I hope you’re using one of the officially supported distributions – which should have fwupdmgr available.

If you are, try from a root (or sudo) prompt, fwupdmgr refresh then fwupdmgr update. It might ask you if you really want to do the update; answer “Y” and it should copy the necessary files, and then ask you to reboot the system. On the next reboot, the firmware patch should automatically apply.

While you can try to make an EFI-bootable USB stick, that wouldn’t be my first choice or recommendation personally.

Yes as I said in the original post I’m using Ubuntu, but there is no fwupdmgr update for this one. I was just trying to stay on top of the updates since I haven’t done any BIOS updates or anything since I put the new mainboard in, I’m not brand new to Linux, just returning after a long time away.