Questions of a beginner before ordering

Hi!
After reading lots and lots of articles and posts of the community, i’m about to set my mind on a Framework 16. But i’m not really sure about a few things, because i’m not a computer expert. I try to find the information i need by myself but it’s not always easy to unterstand the community, kind of a foreign langage to me (also, really a foreign langage since english is not my first langage). Can you help me?
I’m gonna go for the pre-built for sure. But i hesitate for the configuration. I would like to be able to play some good games, on Steam for exemple. Is the Ryzon 7 sufficient? Is the Overkill making a big difference? Will i be able to play recent games without the graphic module? Is it important to have an expansion card?
I think that if someone is able to explain to me what differences this will make between this configurations, i’ll be able to make a choice :slight_smile:
Also, is there a better timing to make an order between now and a few months? I remember reading something about a new version of the laptop in august but i can’t find where and i’m not sure to have understood correctly what i read…
Thank you very much in advance !

2 Likes

Hello,

While this is primarily an English forum, you will find some French speakers here and no one will be upset at you for speaking French. Et il y a toujours Google Translate. :fr:

I don’t have all the answers but hopefully others will come in and you’ll be able to put it together.

The expansion cards are the ports of the laptop. Internally, the Framework laptop 16 has 6 USB-C ports. The expansion cards convert this USB-C into something you’ll need, then they sit inside the laptop frame. Simply put, you get to pick which ports are useful to you.