Advice Needed to Order Framework 16

Hello, non-techie here looking for some help.

I’m planning to get a Framework 16 and need to decide on the options to order. Problem is I have no real knowledge of computer parts and I don’t have the energy to thoroughly research each individual option. My brother was going to help me go through them but he’s got a lot on and I was hoping to be able to order asap.

Right now I mostly use my laptop for office software and writing software, but I need the capability to run large/complex graphics programs as my career moves in that direction. I’m not really a gamer but I would like the option of being able to use my laptop for that purpose once in a while. It’s possible in the next couple of years I will also use it for recording and editing audio and maybe video too.

If anyone could advise me what parts to pick when placing my order, I would very much appreciate it.

3 Likes

If you can specify which “large/complex graphics programs” you intend to run in the future, and also how much ahead in the future, it’ll better equip the readers to give more relevant advice.

Also, is the bigger screen a more desirable feature for you in comparison to portability?

1 Like

I’m happy to blindly speculate! For video editing, you’ll want good RAM (16GB maybe bare minimum, 32 comfy, 64 to never worry about it again), and you’ll want the GPU, as video processing uses the GPU for hardware encoding. If you’re going to think about high resolution video, that uses a ton of disk space, so you could probably be comfortable with 1TB primary drive and a 2TB video storage drive if you’re planning on doing medium-serious Youtube-ing, as those recorded clips can be enormous (think 20-30GB for a 20 min video, depending on how the video is encoded).