[RESPONDED] Fedora 39 Hibernate - Framework 13 Intel

I’m trying to set up hibernate on my Framework 13th generation with Intel CPU. It seems like this is maybe not recommended (at least, according to some links I found) but I never remember to shut down my laptop before long periods of not using it (nights, workdays, etc.) and it loses a lot of battery life in standby using both s2idle and deep.

I found a number of guides for enabling Hibernate on older versions of Fedora but haven’t found much for Fedora 39 written in 2023. The most complete guide I found was this post from the framework forums but that information was a little outdated apparently so I also followed this specific comment from a Fedora forum for the actual setup of Hibernation.

I think I’ve performed this setup correctly (after messing up an fstab edit and ending up in emergency mode lol) but I’m pretty new to linux/Fedora and have a few questions:

1. Some of the time when I run systemctl hibernate the power button flashes then turns off. When I push it again the laptop shows the Fedora boot loader (as though it had shut down) but then also loads back my work (as though it had hibernated successfully). Is this right? It’s also inconsistent which is odd…

2. Is there a way for me to tell whether my laptop is hibernating? When I open if after longer than HibernateDelaySec it allows me to login instantly and all my applications are as they were which doesn’t match with my understanding of hibernation

Thanks!

It seems like this is maybe not recommended (at least, according to some links I found)

What links exactly? I’m interested …

The most complete guide I found was this post from the framework forums but that information was a little outdated apparently so I also followed this specific comment from a Fedora forum for the actual setup of Hibernation.