Thoughts on a mainboard upgrade?

I have a Framework 13 with an i5-1135G7 CPU, from batch 5 if I remember, and am finally looking to upgrade the mainboard. Very happy with it except for the thermals. When doing anything CPU intensive, I’ll get warnings that the CPU is getting above 88 C. I’ve been doing a lot of video encoding while running a media server (and also using the web browser or doing other work at the same time). If I get anything full HD encoding without using hardware acceleration, it’ll give me a temp. warning. With acceleration on, it’s around 57-68 C if it’s cool in my room. I’ve also had long write cycles on the NVME thermal throttle pretty quickly.

I was originally looking at either the i5-1340P or Ryzen 5 7640U to stay in budget, or maybe the i7-1360P. I think the integrated GPU in the Ryzen is supposed to be better, but I don’t use too much of the Iris Xe anyway, even with the little bit of 3D designing I’ve been doing for printing. I have no experience with AMD CPU’s anyway.

Any thoughts on what might give me the best performance in thermals, or any other insights? I’ve had this thing running nearly 24/7 since I got it, and don’t like how careful I have to be monitoring temps, especially during seasonal changes or when my apartment’s heat decides to turn this place into an oven.

Thanks.

Current specs:
Framework 13 DIY Edition batch 5
Running Win 10 (uprgrading to 11 after mobo swap)
i5-1135G7
Crucial 16GB RAM (2x8GB) DDR4 3200MHz CL22
Sabrent 500GB Rocket 4 Plus NVMe - Gen4

The first thing that I would do is repaste with PTM7950, see how things are, then assess your case for an upgrade.

1 Like