What's Your Trusted Browser?

Since I’m switching to Linux for my “daily driver” computer, I figured it was a good time to evaluate which browser to use. Firefox seems like the obvious choice, since it’s what many Linux distros include, but is there another that would be better/safer? I figure your browser is the gateway to everything you do online. Shopping, paying bills, filing taxes, everything. So I’d hate to go all in on one and find out there’s anything sketchy about it.

Just figured I’d see if there was some kind of consensus out there.

1 Like

I’m no expert so take this with a grain of salt, but from what I understand Chromium based browsers are slightly more secure than Firefox. If you care about privacy too though, Firefox (and in particular it’s fork Librewolf) is an excellent choice after changing some settings. Brave is a Chromium browser that is also considered privacy friendly.

What is probably just as important as your browser of choice is that it is up to date. Usually soft forks like Librewolf are slower to update, since they have to wait for the Firefox update and then modify it.
And some repositories don’t update their software as quickly as others. Flathub is usually very up to date from my experience, so I would recommend installing the flatpak version of whatever browser you choose. Flatpaks also come with some security benefits due to sandboxing, although I don’t know how big a difference that would make when it comes to browsers.

Edit: I might add that I personally use Firefox because I think it is dangerous that Chromium is almost a monopoly at this point. That gives Google a lot of power and we already see signs that they are willing to abuse that power by making ad blocking harder.

Hardened firefox or firefox derivative.
I use Firefox Beta personally because the wayland support is better.

3 Likes