Ability to order "Empty" expansion cards?

While I haven’t managed to take apart one of my expansion cards yet, I still definitely have a desire to make some addons for this computer. I’m not experienced with CAD, or even with this scale of DIY (at least not enough to do the prototyping required), but I definitely want to try my hand at it. On that note, is there any plans to offer an “empty” expansion card, with only the internal USB-C part included, so that we could make our own cards while still having them look like and be as durable as the first party ones? I think I could make, for example, a hidden dongle card (non-removable dongle at least) with my limited soldering knowledge, but before I plan to salvage another card i’d love to know if that’s a plan. This could also facilitate community “kits” where in addition to a blank card, people could offer a list of parts in order to teach fellow community members skills like soldering, 3d printing, etc, while also creating functional expansions in the process.

7 Likes

As much as making your own expansion cards is cool there is a few major risks, failure, magic smoke or you can even damage the unit by wiring up wrong, for example, you do not insulate it right and give the card 5V on the ground rail possibly shorting internal components out, or you attach 5V to the aluminum accidentally, boom 5V into the chassis. And what do you mean by the internal USB-C plug? Do you mean on a blank board soldered or on a breakout board?

2 Likes