External Monitors (HDMI, and DP Alt Mode) not working on Linux

Dear all,

I am quite new to NixOS but managed to get everything working, except one thing: my external portable monitor which uses DP alt Mode (not Displaylink). When connecting it, it has the power to be powered on, but no video signal is being sent to it, and I don’t see it in Hyprland using hyprctl monitors.

My current config: GitHub - clementpoiret/nixos-config: ❄️ NixOs / Hyprland rice with Home-Manager ❄️

I only tried with the dGPU on, both on usual usb-c ports and the usb-c port on the dGPU.

Do you have any clue about the issue?

Thanks a lot!

Here is what I see when I plug the screen:

[  355.424475] ucsi_acpi USBC000:00: GET_CABLE_PROPERTY failed (-5)
[  355.841433] ucsi_acpi USBC000:00: unknown error 0
[  355.841451] ucsi_acpi USBC000:00: UCSI_GET_PDOS failed (-5)

I also see that when I plug extension cards

EDIT: Just in case, I use the cable provided with the screen, which worked well on my previous laptop

I’m also using a portable external screen with my Framework 16, which is working fine on all the usb-c ports that carry the alt-DP signal (2 on the left side, 1 on the right side).
On the dGPU I’ve found that it does not have enough power to power the external screen, if i connect the screen to a separate power supply all is working fine.
I suggest you first try the normal usb-c ports, they should always have a signal, and try some other cables (perhaps you can try the cable from your 180W power supply?), I have noticed that for power and alt-DP the laptop is sometimes picky about the cable quality.

I tried on all possible usb ports, even those not marked as compatible with video output, same thing :confused:
I tried with multiple cables too, all of which worked well on another laptop (arch, not nixos). Maybe I misconfigured something with AMD drivers ?