Framework Tablet 3d Printing

I am attempting to create a tablet with a Mainboard/Battery mounted onto the back of a touchscreen monitor. I have found this post alongside this repository that both include exactly what I need. The plan is to modify the files to create screw holes to fit into a 75x75mm Vesa mount and completely cover the battery.

I have little to no experience with 3d printing so I’m a bit lost with where to start (past modifying the files, I think I can figure that part out). My lack of understanding more falls within:

• What materials I should use when 3d printing something like this? My understanding is some materials are too brittle for heat, but something metal would be too heavy.

• Is this something that is going to require a bit of “prototyping” where I’ll need multiple prints done, meaning its more worth it to just invest in my own printer? Or is this straight forward enough that I’d be fine getting somebody to print it for me?

EDIT: My mainboard is currently mounted on the back with the ability to take it off easily since the board is just plugged in via one of the ports.

The idea now is to make the case be able to hold the battery

And be mountable with the 75x75mm vesa mount on the back

EDIT: Looks like nrp says they use PLA Pro so I’ll likely try to print using that material.

1 Like

Those queries can be answered via a general web search, it’s not specific to the Framework laptop.

Have you searched this forum for what other’s have done?

See
https://community.frame.work/search?q=3D%20printing

Maybe this ??

Materials to use:

2 Likes

Thank you! You’ve pointed me in the right direction.

2 Likes

Just to weigh in a bit more on 3d printing filament choice.