Full arrow keys on 16 inch keyboard

Hello lovely people

I look for a Framework laptop since quite some while, and the new 16 inch version does look amazing

Still, looking at the keyboard, it pains me to see that you went with the half-sized arrow keys. Thats a deal breaker, and not only for me: Keyboard arrow keys

I understand that you have good reasons for it, and that you cant easily add the option for a fully customized keyboard.

Two options, that I can see:

1. Full sized arrow keys by default
  2. Full sized arrow keys on a community designed, own layout.

I would suggest, that we introduce a keyboard option for coders, professionals and gamers.
Something that spares the second shift key, the capslock and similar shinenigans, and therefor introduced proper sized arrow keys.

The US variant could provide a good basis for that.

9 Likes

I second that. I am a keyboard-centric coder and I would buy a fully loaded Framework 16 laptop right now (if it was available) because of its modularity and serviceability. But! Small arrow keys make it absolutely a “no-go”. I spend 12 hours a day or more using a keyboard and a lot of it involves arrow keys. Given the fact that the whole idea of the product is that it is modular and upgradable, it shocks me that there is no normal-size arrow keys option. I would seriously pay extra for such an option.

What is even more sad, there was a similar discussion about 13" model back in 2021 on this forum, with quite a lot of support from the current and potential customers, and nothing came out of this.

Just when I thought that I have found a laptop of my dreams, the small arrow keys happen!

3 Likes

The keyboard runs QMK, so my plan is to just make the fn + WASD keys work as arrow keys. You can do literally anything with QMK, so this isn’t deal-breaking, IMO.

4 Likes

I literally loose 4 keys with that, and I am used for 20+ years with them being at the right side.

1 Like