FW 13 1 month review

Hi guys, I was very fortunate to receive a Framework 13 7640u as a Christmas present from my parents about a month ago, and I figured you guys would like a review, so here goes.

Config: My current configuration is a DIY edition Ryzen 5 7640u with 2x USB-A, 2x USB-C, and an HDMI expansion card. Since I got the DIY edition, I ended up buying an SK hynix P41 Platinum 1TB and Crucial (2x8GB) 5600 MHz RAM. I also bought the FW 65W charger. So, I’ve been using my FW as my daily driver, and I love it so far! I’m a high school student, and my school provides every student with Chromebooks. My FW has been a very welcome upgrade. All my school work is done using Google Docs, Google Drive, and Gmail, so I haven’t really done any taxing work on the FW. But if I did, I don’t doubt the FW would be able to handle it just fine. As for battery life, I’ve been getting anywhere from 7-9 hours, which was pleasantly surprising. I was a little worried the battery life wouldn’t be good enough to get through all my classes, but I was wrong. Some things that I do to preserve battery life are as follows: I keep the brightness between 0-20%, Bluetooth is permanently off unless I’m using my AirPods, I’ve turned down the power button brightness in the BIOS, and I keep the camera and mic off unless I’m using them. I don’t know if that actually makes a difference, but I still keep them off anyway. The mic and webcam are actually a lot better than what I expected, which is a plus. I know everyone complains about the speakers, but I don’t think they’re that bad. I’m using an audio preset for the laptop from someone on here, and that definitely helped a lot.

Pros: