How to use old nvme ssd on DIY framework laptop?

I have a Western Digital 2TB WD Blue 3D NAND NVME ssd. I was using this on my old laptop. I have used cloning software before to transfer my os and data onto bigger nvme drives, and they have worked perfectly.

I want to keep Windows 10 and all my programs the same on my new framework laptop DIY 12th gen. How can I achieve this? I only have one nvme ssd that is big enough for my os and data and thats the one im using. I just want everything transfer over to my new framework.

I’ve tried physically swapping my nvme ssd and putting into my framework but it couldn’t find a boot device. I’ve tried using window’s recovery software from a usb while the nvme drive was installed but nothing :confused:

It’s just really frustrating because I have this amazing machine right in front of me but can’t use it how I want. I’m not that tech savvy, but from what I understand windows would need to “recalibrate” to the new hardware it’s given.

So what can be done in my situation? Any help is appreciated. Thank you for reading :slight_smile:

Your drive needs to be UEFI bootable. …and not MBR…

e.g. How to convert MBR to GPT drive to switch BIOS to UEFI on Windows 10 | Windows Central

1 Like

Second_Coming my drive was already GTP not MBR.
iju
and my old laptop is using UEFI boot so I’m not understanding.

what must I do?

Odd…then the Framework Laptop should at least see the EFI partition on the drive when you drop that in…and show the Windows boot manager as a boot option.

Maybe someone else can chime in on what’s needed here.

1 Like

Not much more to add I’m afraid. I has similar problems to yours: I swapped a NVMe drive from an old laptop to the new, and it didn’t get deteted. In my case I didn’t have EFI properly setup and it was working on the older laptop because it still had “legacy boot” enabled, which is not available on the Framework laptop.