LTE Cat 4 Cell Modem Card

Ok guys, My name is Tim and I would like to introduce myself. I am an engineer with over 20 years experience in making innovative designs from military vehicle modifications to commercial tools. After seeing Framework for the first time I have fallen in love with their vision and want to help see their concept get off the ground. To that idea I decided to do what I do best…

Design Something.

So I present my first design for framework. The Cat 4 LTE modem.

There were a few design challenges with this one, including:

• Finding a modem module to fit in the housing
  • Specifying available components
  • Getting an antenna connection

Now there is no way we can fit the antenna in this module as well for sizing as well as I don’t have the facilities to test antenna efficiency. But I have provided 2 MMCX connectors for a primary and a diversity antenna(optional).

The main features of this module are:

• Using a Nano Sim Card
  • Fully fits within the expansion card dimensions (*mostly, the antenna connectors required an extra 0.5mm length, I swear you won’t see it :wink: )
  • Transmit LED Between the antenna connectors
  • Cat4 Speeds (150 Mbit/s downlink — 50 Mbit/s uplink)

Verizon support:

• LTE bands B2, B4, and B13
  • UMTS bands B2 and B5

AT&T Support

• LTE bands B2, B4, B5, and B17
  • UMTS bands B2 and B5

The goal of this module is to provide a fully contained modem within the outline of the expansion module. Things like faster connections/Integrated antenna/other provider support will require a larger module.

When fully inserted the SIM card is hidden below the rail of the card.

• {Image of the card fully inserted ISO View - not included due to new user restrictions}
  • {Image of the card fully inserted Front View Wireframe - not included due to new user restrictions}

PCB Views:

• {Image of the PCB Top Side - not included due to new user restrictions}