Mainboard Build possible? Threadripper & Nvidia

Hello, I have no experience with mainboards for notebooks, so if my question seems unreasonable or I don’t know just crazy, please correct me.
Would it be possible to also create a mainboard that has for example an graphics card PNY NVIDIA A30 combined with an AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 5965WX and then insert that into the upcoming 16 inch notebook?
If yes, who could do that setup? Could this really be performed at home?
Thanks

2 Likes

Pretty much impossible. Power draw and heat generation would be insane. Those are desktop parts, they don’t belong in the mobile segment. You could use the GPU in an enclosure but you’ll never see a Threadripper here.

Ok thanks.
But like a combination of Intel® Core™ i9-12900H and NVIDIA RTX™ A2000 8 GB would be possible?
I am seeing that this configuration is possible because you can customize your Lenovo ThinkPad P1 Gen 5 Notebook like this on the lenovo webpage.

@ronin Potentially but they haven’t even announced what processors will be available. You are limited by whatever selection Framework is willing to provide. We may see H-series parts or we may be limited to P-series parts. Nobody here will be able to tell you. The GPU has even less certainty around it. Framework has not committed to producing any GPU modules, merely shown a proof of concept. Even if they did produce such modules, I’d bet professional class cards will not be high on the list. You would be better of buying an enclosure and using the GPU that way. You likely won’t be bothered by the bandwidth limitations of Thunderbolt.

1 Like