Requesting a couple details for eyes-free framework DIY installation

Hey all,

I am taking on the challenge of getting a Framework 13 13th gen intel DIY edition ready for use without being able to see. I’m a blind developer intending to use the device and, while the quickstart guide is immensely helpful, some details are only conveyed through the included images which … well …I can’t see :slight_smile:
I have just a couple clarifications I need in order to finish this up:

• Aproximately where, and in what orientation, is the SSD to be placed?
  • I only see one fastener that currently isn’t seeminlg doing much, which is towards the upper left corner of the rectangular area to the left and below the RAM slots. Is this the relevant fastener for the SSD, and is it meant to come out all the way before the SSD is placed?
  • Where is the port for the touch pad connector on the mainboard located?
  • And finally, what orientation is the input cover in when placing it key-side-down in order to plug in set touchpad cable into the mainboard?

I intend to write these clarifications up in a document for others in my situation to reference but as of right now, I need these answers in order to do this properly :slight_smile:
Thanks in advance,

6 Likes

I think these are all fantastic questions, and I, too, have noticed that the guides only provide some information visually. I’m also blind, and it would be great to get more precise descriptions on the physical location of not only these items, but others as well, such as the Wi-Fi module and antenna cables, display cables, audio module cable routing, and other things to assist those who can’t see, to work on a Framework laptop or mainboard. I’ve never purchased one for myself, but I’ve been keeping a close eye on Framework’s blog and these community posts for another reason entirely. I’ll definitely be keeping an eye on this one to see how others respond.

4 Likes