[RESOLVED] Backlight on brand new framework suddenly stopped working

Hey there,

I have a brand new framework intel 13gen laptop on which I set up ubuntu 22.04 a couple of days ago. I followed the really comprehensive guide (Ubuntu 22.04 LTS Installation on the Framework Laptop 13 - Framework Guides) step by step and everything worked fine for almost a week. The Brightness adjustment worked and the fingerprint aswell. Today when I turned on the laptop the backlight was suddenly not there anymore. With a flashlight you can see parts of the display that are white but the backlight seems to be completly turned off.

I have been coding for years but I am rather new to the linux environment and I have no real idea about the boot process etc…

What I did so far:
I already checked all cables which seem to be fine. I also checked my /sys/class/backlight folder which has one entry intel_backlight. When I print out the brightness I can see that I can still adjust it with the corresponding keys but this has no effect since the backlight is still off. I also tried to add the acpi_backlight option to grub config (vendor, native, video) which did not work.

I found this similar issue ([SOLVED] Backlight brightness issues - #7 by Matt_Hartley) in the forum but it did not solve my issue. If anyone has any idea what I could do next I would greatly appreciate your help!

Best Yannick

Update: The screen backlight startet working again after a couple of days without me doing anything. I am really not sure if this is a hardware or a software issue…

Welcome to the community!

Appreciate the update, definitely not the experience we want for you.

So long as we’re sticking with:

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash module_blacklist=hid_sensor_hub"

in /etc/default/grub with sudo update-grub, reboot done after, you are then setup correctly. Further details here.

All of that said, I want to clarify this:

This feels like one of two things: