Scientist, macbook convert to framework DIY edition: more RAM in the prebuilts pls

Hellooo I’m Claire. My last personal laptop purchase was the tiny 11" macbook air in 2014, coming from a life of macbooks and apple universe since the 90s. I have a desktop pc build with a 3080, but I never use it and prefer laptops. I’m actually selling the desktop because it’s collecting dust. I am a bioinformatician and statistician (biomedical science) which means I need high memory and decent computing power for work and school even though I have an excellent cluster connection. Speed is much more important than graphics for me.
The macbook airs around 2014-15 are among the last of the line to have ANY upgradeable parts. Now in 2022 it has slowed to a snails pace, and I wanted a laptop that I can upgrade over time. I don’t think this is a crazy idea - it should be normalized.
I was about to press pay on the pro prebuilt when I realized, it does not offer 64 GB ram. Why. WHY! So I am getting a DIY edition with 64GB. I saw one thread with someone else asking why the prebuilts are not offered with higher ram, and the reply was lack of interest. I think that is plainly wrong. Anyone in the science field will need as much memory as possible in a laptop. I also second others asking for GPU options other than an external GPU. Just consider it, Mr. Patel et al. Well, looking forward to my new laptop for the next 8 years haha! Thank you!! – claire

9 Likes

This is why the DIY edition exists. They’re probably right that the demand for 64GB pre-built isn’t high enough for them to justify offering it as a separate SKU.

4 Likes

Hi Claire,

I believe I was the one who asked about it, if that is what you are referencing. I understand what you are saying! I for one was first so attracted to the Framework Laptop because of its ability to use up to 64gb RAM.