Super newbie needs help

Greetings! I purchased a framework computer to build with my elementary school age daughters in an attempt to get them interested in STEM fields. I have a little experience and feel as if I’m in over my head !

I seem to have assembled the hardware correctly, but I’m having a lot of trouble installing drivers and windows.

I’ve downloaded the drivers and the windows installation tool onto a USB drive, but get a number of errors.

I’m asked to update drivers, but while they are on the USB drive, they can’t be found for some reason.

I tried to soldier on with the installation, but as soon as Windows tries to install, I get the error 0x800703EE.

My apologies if I’ve broken any etiquette by posting this here… I’d appreciate any help or direction! Thank you very much!

2 Likes

It took me a couple efforts to create a bootable USB. I ended up using Etcher to write to the USB, as downloading OS was not sufficient to make a bootable drive. I’m a newbie too. I’m sure you will get better and more detailed responses. Hang in there.

2 Likes

I’m not sure if having the Framework Driver Bundle present in the bootable USB would screw things up while installing Windows. Typically you would install Windows first and then the drivers afterward (i.e. once you’re at the Windows desktop).

If you haven’t already, try following the steps outlined in this guide:

1 Like

Hi @Alan_Hyde, have you tried using a different USB flash drive, or did you use the Windows Media Creation Tool? You can check some of our guides through these links:

We recommend following our guide for installing the Windows OS: Framework Laptop - Framework Guides

If this continues to be an issue for you, I would recommend submitting a ticket to our support team here: Framework | Support so they can ensure your laptop is performing as intended!

Thank you and stay safe!

2 Likes

Hi Alan,