[TRACKING] [FW 13 AMD 7840U] Cores stuck at low frequency and system lag

I’m opening this thread to understand if it’s just me.
I run opensuse TW, so I get kernel updates quite frequently.
A couple of days ago I decided to give Mario Limonciello’s PPD patch a try (always looking for ways to make my framework run more efficiently, since I’m not happy with battery ATM).
I rebooted, and when I started playing around a bit with my framework not attached to power, I immediately noticed that the cursor was lagging behind. It would follow the movement of my hand for a couple of seconds, then suddenly freeze and jump a few centimeters away. Made the movements completely unpredictable.
I initially thought this had something to do with Mario’s PPD patch I was testing, but then uninstalled it and the problem was still there.

Now I think/hope I’ve finally understood that the actual fix is to rollback to a previous snapshot of my system, which runs 6.6.6 instead.
I had the same problem on my dual boot F39 install (which was on 6.6.8 meanwhile).

I suspect that starting from 6.6.7 something is affecting performance so bad, that the mouse cursor lags behind. And I don’t think it’s just the mouse, because gaming performance took a hit as well, with very noticeable lag in graphics and freezes in audio.

Luckily thanks to tumbleweed snapper I was able to go back in time a week or so, and now my system is snappy as ever.

But I wanted to know if anyone’s noticed anything similar, on any distro, running kernels 6.6.7 and later.

Thanks

You might want to ask for board version as well as behavior on and off of power.

11th gen, kernel 6.6.8, no issues on or off of power. Maybe it’s an AMD thing. It seems like the kernel, drivers, etc have not yet caught up to the hardware.

1 Like

Thanks, good suggestion, fixed the title.