What's your notes app of choice?

• What is your preferred note-taking app of choice?
  • Why do you use what you use?
  • What features does it have that makes you enjoy?

I’ve been using Fedora 39 on my AMD FW 13 and it has been going fairly smooth (with a minor hiccups here and there). Using Linux as a daily driver OS is relativity new thing for me. I was doing some background research on note taking apps to find a good alternative for what I have been using for a couple of years now, which is Google Keep. I know, it is not the best option for the privacy conscious. De-Googling my life is an active long-project that I am working on.

Personally I have been getting into Joplin. It is free, open source, and seems like a great solution for someone looking for a service with cloud sync. I might look into getting the basic tier subscription so that my notes can sync across all of my devices.

What about you?

1 Like

I used Evernote for nearly 20 years, paying for a personal sub. Loved and evangelized the app,but it’s gone down the drain with the recent corporate aquisition, Bending Spoons.

They may have fixed some of the most egregious bugs, but they also jacked up the subscription price tremendously.

I don’t mind paying for a subscription, but I have no confidence in the current Evernote corp overlords, and the price is simply too high.

I tried a number of apps, and personally settled on Notesnook. It has a subscription as well, but it’s fast and reminds me of the ‘old’ relible Evernote. Without all the feature creep.

1 Like

Increasingly reluctant user of Notion, trying to migrate to Obsidian.

2 Likes

Why is it that so many people use Notion, yet so many are growing tired of it?

1 Like

Isn’t that just a matter that only people who use it have the opportunity to grow tired of it? The former is a prerequisite for the latter.

1 Like

Speaking for myself, I would not say that I am getting tired of Notion.