Getting low FPS in both Dolphin and Citra emulators

Hello!

Yesterday I assembled my Framework 13 with Ryzen 5 7640U APU, installed Ubuntu 22.04 and the OEM Kernel package “linux-oem-22.04c” (using “6.1.0-1026-oem” currently and, yes, I also made sure it loads by default in the grub config). Today I upgraded to the latest firmware 03.03. It seems to be running alright but the opengl performance is abysmal. I can’t get CITRA (a Nintendo 3DS emulator) or Dolphin to maintain a stable framerate of 60 FPS. Citra, especially, runs dog slow with less than 30 FPS. I tried switching to an X.org session but it did not make a difference.

I don’t quite understand what’s going on but I am also a bit new to GPU drivers on Linux. However, my 5 years old Intel based Fujitsu-Siemens runs Citra and Dolphin quite alright. I installed both emulators from snap (not apt).

Has anybody dug deeper into Linux’ gfx sub system and squeezed out more performance out of this AMD GPU? Should I install proprietary AMD drivers?

Best regards,
Gernoti

No, you only need the proprietary drivers for some computing stuff, and even then they’re a pain to install. Performance of the open source drivers is great and comparable to the Windows drivers.

Is there a way I can check whether amdgpu is up and running correctly? I mean I saw the Kernel module loading and „glxgears -info“ running fine.

Perhaps it’s an issue of these emulators themselves not working nice together with the drivers. That would a bit sad, though, as I was looking forward to finally play „Pilotwings Resort“ upscaled with enhanced gfx on my shiny new laptop and, now, here I am not getting it to run it even beyond 20 fps in its native resolution. :frowning:

Perhaps I’ll try installing Steam first and test more modern games.

Might be able to check with amdgpu_top if it gets into gear.

There seems to be a bug with the EC which doesn’t switch the thermal limits back from power save when it’s been set.